When To Move On

Mark Office

Greetings In The Name Of The Lord:

Acts 18:6 (NLT)
6 But when they opposed and insulted him, Paul shook the dust from his clothes and said, “Your blood is upon your own heads—I am innocent. From now on I will go preach to the Gentiles.”

One of the great challenges of witnessing is knowing when to move on. There will be some people that simply will not listen no matter what we say to them. Even if we use the most creative means, consistently show them the love of Christ, and pray for them daily, their hearts may still remain as hard as stone. So what do we do? I remember a time in my first pastorate when there were some people in the church who were treating myself and my family is a very disrespectful manner. We had a congregational meeting with the Presbyter, who at that time was Mike Massey, who recently went to be with the Lord. The meeting was not pretty! It consisted of one side of the church standing up and complaining about me, and someone from the other side standing up and sticking up for me. This went on for an hour and a half (to me it seemed an eternity). At the conclusion of the meeting, Mike put his arms around me and said, “Mark, if the Holy Spirit hasn’t changed them, you and I aren’t going to.” It was some of the best advice that I was ever given in my nearly 20 years of ministry. Sometimes we just have to move on! That’s what Paul did here in Acts 18, they wouldn’t listen to his message, so he decided to move on. He made the decision to go to the Gentiles who would listen. Does that mean that he gave up on the Jews? I don’t believe that he did. I’m sure that he continued to pray for them and ask God to change them, but as far as continuing to try and convince them he had moved on. He wasn’t going to waste his time and efforts in ministry to those who wouldn’t listen. How do you come to this decision? Ask the Holy Spirit to show when it’s time to move on, and he will show you what to do.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

