Keeping The Fire Burning

n705062799_1371117_4918

Greetings In The Name Of The Lord:

1 Corinthians 13:1-3 (NLT)
1  If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2  If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing.
3  If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.

Recently, a sweet lady in my congregation asked me if I would preach a sermon series on marriage and relationships in preparation for Valentine’s Day. In keeping with that request, and accompanying that series, I decided to give some thoughts here on that theme. Former First Lady Barbara Bush said, “As important as your obligation as a doctor, a lawyer or a business leader may be, your human connections with your spouse, your children and your friends are the most important investment you will ever make. At the end of your life, you will never regret not having passed one more test, not winning one more verdict or not closing one more deal, but you will regret time not spent with your spouse, your children or your friends” (Barbara Bush, 1994 Commencement Address, Wellesley College, quoted in Current Thoughts and Trends, January 1995, 12). It is hard to stay in love with someone that you do not make your highest priority. The Apostle Paul teaches us that love is the highest of all gifts and virtues, and therefore, the foundation of all relationships. We can get so caught up in our busy lives that we forget to show love to our spouse by giving them the quality time that they deserve. Making your spouse the most important person on your list of priorities ought to be something we strive for every day. This is exemplified by our relationship with the Lord. We show our love for the Lord by spending time with him in prayer, reading Scripture, and attending church. Consequently, we show our love for our spouse by spending quality time with them. To all you married folks, when was the last time you had a date night? If you want to keep the fire burning you have to put some wood on the fire!

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

