Theological Misunderstandings

Indians Game

Greetings In The Name Of The Lord:

John 1:14 (NLT)
14  So the Word became human and made his home among us. He was full of unfailing love and faithfulness. And we have seen his glory, the glory of the Father’s one and only Son.

 When we were pastoring in Yellville, AR I met a group of Christians from another church in town. They were wonderful people but from time to time they would say things that just didn’t set well with me. One day one of them said to me, “We don’t want to talk about doctrine, we just want to talk about Jesus!” So asked them, “What do you believe about Jesus?” They replied, “Well He is the Son of God!” To which I commented, “So you believe in the doctrine of the Deity of Christ?” The brother looked at me and said, “Well I guess so.” Then I asked him what else he believed about Jesus? He said, “I believe that he died for my sins.” Then I replied, “Oh, so you believe in the doctrine of the Atonement of Christ?” By this time he was getting a little aggravated with me, but I kindly pushed him a little a bit further and asked him what else he believed about Jesus? He said, “Well I believe that he came to earth and became like one of us!” So I piped up, “Great you believe in the doctrine of the Incarnation!” After a while I think my point was getting across to him that it is impossible to talk about Jesus and not talk about Christine doctrine because it all revolves around Jesus. People get bent out of shape about theological terms, however, if someone takes the time to explain the doctrines to them in ways terms they understand they discover that theology isn’t as evil as they suppose. Take for example the doctrine of the Incarnation. Scientist J. Robert Oppenheimer once said “The best way to send an idea is to wrap it up in a person.” The theological word for all of that is incarnation, meaning “in the flesh.” Jesus was the incarnation of God. Jesus was the way that God sent His “idea” to humanity; there was and is no better way! Like the little girl who said, “Some people couldn’t hear God’s inside whisper and so He sent Jesus to tell them out loud.” If we simplify big theological words they make perfect sense.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

2 comments on “Theological Misunderstandings

  1. Dear Pastor Mark,

    I with my love husband Vincent do greet you warmly in the holy name of our Lord Jesus Christ our savior.

    We are writing to you from Kenya Africa thanking and encouraging Pastor for the gospel dispensation you undertaking, God bless you.
    We are so much touched by your teachings and therefore we kindly seek you to allow us being a small growing Ministry join hands together for the Kingdom of God. We extend an invitation that you may come to teach and save souls. We love you Pastor Mark.

    Thank you and God bless.

    Yours in Christ Jesus,

    Sister Josephine Kerubo.

    • Pastor Mark says:

      Thank you Sister Josephine! May God bless you and your husband Vincent in your ministry in Kenya. My wife Tina visited your wonderful country several years ago and she told me of it’s beauty. I would love to come and visit and share with you as the Lord provides. Blessings
      Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

