Trying To Take Christmas Songs Out Of Christmas

n705062799_1371117_4918

Greetings In The Name of The Lord:

Luke 1:46-47 (NLT)
46 Mary responded, “Oh, how my soul praises the Lord. 47 How my spirit rejoices in God my Savior!

Like most people when I think of Christmas it is often the songs of the season that come to the forefront of my mind.  I remember as a child going to the Midnight Christmas Eve Service and listening to my Uncle Ralph’s (our church organist) Christmas program, and how so many people came to hear that wonderful music as the beginning of their Christmas celebration.  In addition, I remember singing in our school Christmas program and learning the songs that we would perform for our parents and friends.  Furthermore, many of the Christmas programs that I watched on television also revolved around the music of Christmas.  Unfortunately, many of our children today are missing out on this very important aspect our Christmas celebration because of the secularization of Christmas and the political correctness of our modern society that wants to remove any hint of Christianity from Christmas.  How ironic it is that the one source we have for what Christmas is all about, the Bible, is one of the key aspects of our faith that our society is trying avoid.  Recently I saw a list of all the Christmas specials that will be airing on television this year, and as I perused the list one that was obviously missing was “A Charlie Brown Christmas.”  To me this is the most important Christmas program that all children should see.  In my opinion, a reason for this omission is the key scene in this program.  Charlie Brown asks, “Can anyone tell me what Christmas is all about?”  His best friend Linus then gets up and retells the Christmas story from the Bible almost word for word.  It seems that people don’t want to be reminded that Christmas is all about Jesus coming to earth to save us from our sins.  Consequently, I have decided to preach a sermon series based on the Christmas songs of the Bible.  My prayer is that it will allow to see that we cannot remove Jesus or the Bible from our celebration of Christmas.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

Leave a Reply

