Crazy Love

Indians Game

Greetings In The Name Of The Lord:

Psalm 42:1-2 (NLT)
As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God.
2 I thirst for God, the living God. When can I go and stand before him?

Lately I have been reading an incredible book written by Pastor Francis Chan, entitled, Crazy Love: Overwhelmed By A Relentless God. The chapter that I just finished was called When You’re In Love, and addressed the previous chapter that talked about being a lukewarm Christian. In this chapter Chan talked said the way to protect yourself from being lukewarm in your relationship with Christ is simply to fall in love with Jesus. As I was reading the chapter Chan makes a statement that simply overwhelmed me. He said, “…you have to stop loving and Christ in order to sin.” Wow, what a hard thing to hear! When you think about it, what Chan says, although hard to deal with, is absolutely true. Think about, when we sin what we are really saying is, “God I love my sin more than I love you!” He goes on to say, “When you are running toward Christ, you are freed up to serve, love, and give thanks without guilt, worry, or fear. As long as you are running, you are safe.” To sin is to run away from God (the name Jonah seems to come to mind), and to love our sin more than God. So what are you doing? Are you running toward God or away from him?

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

Leave a Reply

