Integrity Is the Issue

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

Genesis 39:6-9 (NLT)
…Joseph was a very handsome and well-built young man, 7 and Potiphar’s wife soon began to look at him lustfully. “Come and sleep with me,” she demanded. 8 But Joseph refused. “Look,” he told her, “my master trusts me with everything in his entire household. 9 No one here has more authority than I do. He has held back nothing from me except you, because you are his wife. How could I do such a wicked thing? It would be a great sin against God.”

In an election year like we are in, we will hear a lot about integrity (even though we might not see much of it in action). John Maxwell wrote, “I commit myself to being a person of character. Truth, reliability, honesty and confidentiality will be the pillars of my life. I will treat others as I expect to be treated and I will live according to the highest standards of integrity amid all of life’s circumstances.” A number of years ago, Mike Huckabe wrote a book entitled, Integrity Is the Issue! Unfortunately, we read more about integrity these days than what we see lived out in daily life. A good example of integrity lived out in Scripture is that of Joseph. In this text we see that Joseph had everything to lose. He was in charge of Potiphar’s house, who was second in command in Egypt, and the only thing he had to worry about was steak or chicken for dinner. Then Potiphar’s wife tries to seduce Joseph to sleep with her. What has he got to lose? The boss is away on business and the wife isn’t going to tell him. So I ask again, what has he got to lose? Answer: everything! He would lose how others viewed him. He would lose how he viewed himself. However, the most important thing is that it would change how God viewed him. How would he look himself in the mirror and feel good about what he saw? You see if you lose your integrity you lose everything. Nobody else may know, but you will know and so will God. Live a life of integrity and you will be able to live with yourself.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

Leave a Reply

