In The Living Years

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

Luke 1:18-20, 62-64 (NLT)
18 Zechariah said to the angel, “How can I be sure this will happen? I’m an old man now, and my wife is also well along in years.” 19 Then the angel said, “I am Gabriel! I stand in the very presence of God. It was he who sent me to bring you this good news! 20 But now, since you didn’t believe what I said, you will be silent and unable to speak until the child is born. For my words will certainly be fulfilled at the proper time”… 62 So they used gestures to ask the baby’s father what he wanted to name him. 63 He motioned for a writing tablet, and to everyone’s surprise he wrote, “His name is John.” 64 Instantly Zechariah could speak again, and he began praising God.

Being a Father can be a difficult, and sometimes thankless job. As a Father you are required to love, nurture, teach, and provide for your children. None of this is ever easy, and all of us make mistakes along the road. When we think of all responsibility of holding the lives of young people in your hands, and all of the snap decisions we have to make, the task seems a bit daunting. Often I think of my own Dad and all of the things that he taught me over the years. Like most young people, there were times when I thought my Dad didn’t have a clue. However, as I look back and think of all the responsibility on his shoulders that I wish I had appreciated back then. Did my Dad make mistakes? Sure he did, probably lots of them, but there is no doubt in my mind that my Dad loved me from the bottom of his heart. How I wish he was here today so that I could tell him how much he meant to me, and how sorry I was for not appreciating him “in the living years,” as Mike and the Mechanics wrote. Biblical Father’s like Zechariah are an encouragement to us that we don’t always have to get it right. His life teaches us that we can make mistakes as long as we learn from them and give God the glory. Who knows maybe one day our children will grow up to be the next John the Baptist. To those of you reading this whose Dad’s are still with you I encourage you to appreciate your Dad “in the living years.” Let him know how much he means to you and how thankful you are to God for giving him to you. To those of you, like me, who only have a memory to hang on to, honor his memory by being the kind of person that would have make him proud.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

