Oh Very Young One

 

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

Jeremiah 1:6-9 (NLT)
6 “O Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!” 7 The LORD replied, “Don’t say, ‘I’m too young,’ for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you. 8 And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you. I, the LORD, have spoken!” 9 Then the LORD reached out and touched my mouth and said, “Look, I have put my words in your mouth!

This Sunday at New Life we are blessed to be ministered to by the young people from Xtend Youth Ministries. They are an incredible group of young disciples and I am incredibly proud to be their Pastor. They are some of the most faithful and committed group of people that I have ever worked with. Today they will perform all aspects of the service; from leading worship to preaching and praying for people at the altar. I am fully confident in their ability to carry out all of the aspects of our service. We must remember two things. First, they are not the future of our church; they are the present of our church. Many of them are directly involved in many aspects of our church right now, and we are blessed to have them among us. Second, just because they are young does not mean that they are not capable ministers. Just as the Lord told Jeremiah, “Don’t say I am too young,” for God can and will use anyone that is willing. Age and ability are insignificant when it comes to being used by God for He can make something out of nothing, and give power to weak. I was reminded this week of how young I was when God began to use me. It was the summer of 1982 when I traveled half way across the world to the country of Holland. At that point in my life I had barely been out of the State of Ohio, let alone out of the country. At the time I was only 20 years old, and to say the least, I was still wet behind the ears! However, God took me and a group of young people to minister to those who were hurting and in need of God’s love. You see God is able to use whomever is willing and open to fulfilling His will for their life. God is able to, and will do, amazing things through these young people; we are blessed today to be ministered to by them.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

Leave a Reply

