Spirit-Led

 

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

Romans 15:18-19 (NLT)
18 Yet I dare not boast about anything except what Christ has done through me, bringing the Gentiles to God by my message and by the way I worked among them.
19 They were convinced by the power of miraculous signs and wonders and by the power of God’s Spirit. In this way, I have fully presented the Good News of Christ from Jerusalem all the way to Illyricum.

I remember an unpleasant moment from my first pastorate that took place after an all-church meeting where I had been literally ripped to shreds. When the meeting was over, my presbyter put his arm around my shoulders and said, “Mark, if the Holy Spirit can’t get through to them you and I are going to reach them either.” That poignant moment in my life and ministry reminds me that are success in reaching people lies not in our talent, ability, or knowledge, but rather in the power of the Holy Spirit. Paul reminds us here that we are merely channels of the Holy Spirit and that our success in ministry has much less to do with us, and everything to do with the Holy Spirit. All too often we accept too much of the credit when we succeed, and too much of the blame when we fail. Have you been trying to reach someone that just seems to want nothing to do with the Gospel? Does it seem that no matter what you do they won’t listen? Remember that it is not you but the Holy Spirit that does the work. Rely on Him and trust in His power and not on your abilities.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

 

Leave a Reply

