My Brother the Mentor

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

1 Timothy 1:18-19 (NLT)

18 Timothy, my son, here are my instructions for you, based on the prophetic words spoken about you earlier. May they help you fight well in the Lord’s battles.

19 Cling to your faith in Christ, and keep your conscience clear…

 As I write this to you today it is with a heavy heart after the passing of my brother Dr. John T. Schaeufele.  John has most recently been the CEO of St. Vincent’s Mercy Children’s Hospital in Toledo, OH.  He dealt with a disease known as Cystic Fibrosis all of his life.  However, he never let it control his life or keep him from doing what he loved to do.  After his passing someone posted on Facebook a picture of him and expressed several words that described my brother, but of those words none expressed him more than the word “Mentor.”  The word mentor is defined as “an experienced person in a company, college, or school who trains and counsels new employees or students.”  My brother was a mentor to many people either as a doctor, teacher, administrator, father, brother, or friend.  In fact, early on in my life he became a mentor to me.  He took me under his wings at a time in my life that was dark and confusing, and was one of the first to encourage me to begin to read the Bible.  There are many memories in my mind of spending time with him at the University of Akron while he took care of laboratory animals, as well as going to football games and other fun things we did together.  Recently, we spoke on the phone and when I went to visit him at the Cleveland Clinic and he expressed how he felt he had lived a good life, which he certainly did.  He did things and saw things that most people can only dream about.  In my mind, however, he will be remembered most for the way he mentored people and taught them how to make the most out of life and to follow your passions.  As a pastor I am in a position to be a mentor to young and old alike.  It is my prayer that I will be as good a mentor as my brother John.  His life challenges all of us to mentor and shape the lives and minds of future generations.  Rest in peace Dr. John, you will be greatly missed.

 

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

