Remembering 9-11

 Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

 The Israelites did evil in the Lord’s sight and served the images of Baal. 12 They abandoned the Lord, the God of their ancestors, who had brought them out of Egypt. They went after other gods, worshiping the gods of the people around them. And they angered the Lord. 13 They abandoned the Lord to serve Baal and the images of Ashtoreth. 14 This made the Lord burn with anger against Israel, so he handed them over to raiders who stole their possessions. He turned them over to their enemies all around, and they were no longer able to resist them (Judges 2:10-14, NLT).

Today is a day of remembering.  Most importantly we are remembering what happened in our lives, our country’s life, and the lives of all those who past away on September 11, 2001.  In looking back at my own memories of that day.  It was the second day of my first seminary class at The Assemblies of God Theological Seminary.  It was a weeklong class and I was staying with a single man that the seminary had connected me with, and he was allowing me to stay with him for the week.  It was in the morning, and after eating some breakfast, drank some coffee, and was getting ready to head out to the seminary.  Just then I heard my host say, “Uh, Mark, you might want to come here and see this!”  As I walked into the living room, like many others throughout the country, stared in horror and disbelief as I saw the effects of the first jet flown into the Trade Center.  In just a few short minutes a second jet flew into the other tower and everyone was wondering if the world was coming to an end.  Later that day, as I was on my way to seminary to see if we were still having class, I past the long lines of cars waiting to buy gas while they still could.  Arriving at the seminary I saw the looks of disbelief on the faces of everyone I passed in the hallway, and remember the prayers of comfort and help that were offered in chapel that day.  Meanwhile, poor Tina was back at the church dealing with the phone calls, and doing her best to counsel and console those in the congregation.  It was certainly a day I will never forget.  However, let me ask you this question, did all of this occur because we forgot?  Did this tragic event happen because we as a nation, like the Israelites before us, forget the Lord?  Had we lost His divine protection because we had fallen away from His grace?  In my opinion, we have to answer that question with a resounding “Yes!”  There is a clear Biblical principle that says if we serve the Lord and walk in His ways we will be blessed, provided for, and protected.  However, if we do not serve Him and walk in His ways we forfeit that protection.  So what do we do?  We must act upon the word of the prophet Zechariah, Therefore tell the people: This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Return to me,’ declares the LORD Almighty, ‘and I will return to you,’ says the LORD Almighty” (Zechariah 1:3, NIV).  Today we need to remember not just the events of ten years ago, but we need to remember the Lord.

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

