The Power to Dream Big

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

 Acts 1:8 (NLT) 

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

This week I learned a valuable lesson; we should never doubt God and what we can do in His power. We have a tendency to look our limitations rather than having vision filled expectations. Jesus promises us that when the Holy Spirit comes on us we will receive His power to do His work. As Bible scholar F.F. Bruce states, “When the Holy Spirit came upon them, Jesus assured them, they would be vested with heavenly power – that power by which, in the event, their mighty works were accomplished and their preaching made effective. As Jesus had been anointed with the Holy Spirit and power, so his followers were now to be similarly anointed and enabled to carry on his work” (Bruce, NICNT: The Book of Acts, 36). When we are operating in the power of the Spirit we are no longer, too small, too poor, or too deprived of talent or ability. Unfortunately, I had forgotten this, at least for the time being. I was putting limits on a limitless God. However, the events of this week have reminded me of who is in charge. Earlier this week my incredible wife, Tina, read to me a Face Book post from one of my favorite musicians and heroes, Randy Stonehill, that suggested he had a cancelation in his schedule and any Pastor with an opening should email him. Tina suggested that I should email Randy, and my immediate response was, “Yeah, like Randy Stonehill would ever come to our little church in our little town.” However, I took her advice and sent the email. The next day, when my phone rang, the voice on the other end said, “Hi, Pastor Mark, this is Randy Stonehill,” I nearly fell out of my chair! After a lengthy conversation with Randy, we came to an agreement for Randy to come and do a concert at New Life. As I hung up the phone, a small, still voice whispered to me, “Don’t ever doubt me again!” When we are living, breathing, and moving in the power of the Holy Spirit and in the will of Jesus nothing is impossible!

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

One comment on “The Power to Dream Big

  1. I agree with Pastor Mark, nothing is impossible with God. He is the author and finisher of our faith, he is the mighty God, the everlasting Father and he is the Prince of Peace. When we are inspired by the Holy Spirit to do a thing, we should be obedient and act promptly and see how God will work on our behalf. Pastor Barbara Messado.

Leave a Reply

