Just In Time

Greetings In the Name of the Lord:

Romans 5:6-8 (NLT)
6 When we were utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for us sinners. 7 Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good.
8 But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.

This scripture has always been one of great significance to me. The phrase that has always stuck out to me is “at just the right time.” The significance for me is that I am convinced that if Christ has not come into my life when He did it is highly likely that I would not be here at all. My life was bent on self-destruction during this very chaotic period of time. In my mind, Jesus knew that for me it was now or never. However, what does Paul mean when he said at just the right time.” For me the key lies in two important words: one that precedes this phrase and the other that follows it. The first of these words is the word “helpless.” The word that is being translated means, “to be in a state of incapacity or weakness” (Louw and Nidda, Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament: Based on Symantic Domains). The second word is the word translated “sinners,” which means, “living without regard for religious belief or practice.” What Paul is trying to say is that we were living without regard for God or His commandments and that we were totally incapable of doing anything to change that fact. At the time that we were at our weakest and in a state of total dependence on His help is when He came and died for us. The Bible tells us that without Him we are nothing, and I believe, that without Him I would be nothing. Is it the right time for you?

In Christ,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

